My Life = My Adventure

Sharing all about my life, my adventure, my collection, and whatever I wanna write

  • C a l e n d a r

    June 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Post A Day 2011

  • Sponsor

    Free Domain
  • dewy_azura

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Installing WordPress 2.8

Posted by Zura on June 18, 2009

As I purchased this domain about 3 days ago, I decided to try the newest version of WordPress, WordPress 2.8. Why? Yeah, because I see there’s so much improvements. Until now (as my blindness on ITs ..😀 ) drag-and-drop widgets admin interface is the most dominant aspect, followed with fast loading. Others, you can please take a look for the list of features here.

You can please hit below button to download WordPress 2.8 :

But I’m not talking about how to install WordPress to your blog, actually. I’m talking about my experience on how could I install WordPress successfully in my website. I used 000webhost.com as my web hosting service. So far, I had 3 domain hosted there : ZuraWorld.co.cc, DewyAzura.co.cc, and La-Cheris.co.cc. Yes, Co.CC is my favourite to have a free domain. :D  From the past, when I tried to installing WordPress, everything’s go fine (some obstacles of course, because I still newbie on this case). But when I tried to install WordPress 2.8 with 000WebHost’s File Manager, it said that the file is too big. Too big? O ow, tell me about it. Then I tried to upload the wordpress.tar.gz one… The result still about the same, too big. Hey, what’s up here? Okay, without any doubt I tried to upload it via FileZilla. Oh God! The connection is always error/timed out/can’t accept 2 connection at same time, etc. Once it’s connected, uploading WordPress take time for about 8 hours and it still error. What should I do? I want to start and activate this website ASAP, want to see my first website appear on Internet. Yeah, it’s time to think.

I remember that, when I tried to upload wordpress.tar.gz via FileManager, the .tar.gz file is directly transformed as folders and files (but under public_html/wordpress directory, so you have to type http://www.dewyazura.info/wordpress on your browser to access my website. I don’t want it ever happen). Then I deleted it. After thinking deeply, I discover a new way… To upload it fast and done successfully. Guess what! If you download WordPress.zip, extract it to your computer and open the folder, you will find 3 folders (wp admin, wp content, and wp includes). And here is the shortcut :

  • The first thing I did is, add .htaccess to wordpress folder. Copy paste below script to Notepad and name/save it as .htaccess:

<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase /
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule . /index.php [L]
</IfModule>

# BEGIN WordPress
<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase /
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule . /index.php [L]
</IfModule>

# END WordPress

  • Add each and every folder (on this case, wp admin, wp content, and wp include) to archieve. So the file should be wp admin.zip, wp content.zip, and wp include.zip
  • Upload those three .zip files under public_html directory on FileManager (I use 000webhost.com’s file manager). The process won’t go this fast if I use FileZilla
  • After done, it’s time to utilize FileZilla…🙂. Remember to delete wp admin.zip, wp content.zip, and wp includes.zip first. Then I connected to my website FileZilla software
  • After connected, click the public_html folder and will find wp admin, wp content and wp include folder. What I say… It’s working!!!
  • Now, it’s time to upload the unfolder files such as wp-config.php, wp-register.php, wp-load.php, etc in this directory (public_html).
  • Done!

Soon after the uploading process’s done, then I went to http://www.dewyazura.info and activate my WordPress account.

Huh, once again I could successfully utilize my brain for something I didn’t know. Perhaps I can learn and know better and better… You too!🙂

♥ ♥ ♥

14 Responses to “Installing WordPress 2.8”

  1. Mel Y. said

    I don’t usually post but I enjoyed your blog a lot,Thanks alot for the great read 🙂

  2. Juan M. said

    Love it!

  3. Chakrap said

    Nice blog!

  4. Devin said

    I don’t usually post but I enjoyed your blog a lot.

  5. Keely said

    I enjoyed your blog.

  6. Ronnie said

    Really great blog here. Thanks! 🙂

  7. Maribel said

    Seems like you really took your time on this. Keep up the good work! 🙂

  8. nice! i’m gonna make my own blog

  9. I dont know If I said it already but …Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,🙂

    …..Frank Scurley

  10. I should notify u about it.

  11. Kailee said

    I find blogging one of the good ways to spend time.

  12. Graham said

    Good job! Can’t wait to start my own blog.

  13. Yahir said

    I wrote a similar blog on this subject but you nailed it here.

  14. Sariah said

    I liked your blog a lot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
